Dallas (dvd) Review

Nominated for 18 Emmys and 15 Golden Globes in their thirteen season run, Dallas is the epitome from the prime-time drama/soap opera genre. Premiering in 1978 like a five part mini-series, the show combines the usual sex and innuendo of classic afternoon soap operas using the freewheeling adventure of Texas wildcats and filthy rich capitalist oil barons. The combination of business dealings and rampant affairs tested well with both female and male demographic, prompting CBS to produce Dallas a regular a part of its prime-time lineup. The result was one from the most successful television shows of all time. In fact, the so-called ?Who shot J.R.?? episode (?A House Divided? Air Date: 3-21-1980) still reigns as the second most watched TV show in history (the growing season finale of MASH is #1). With one of most memorable characters ever created (the man everyone loves to hate), it?s hardly surprising that Dallas held the #1 or #2 spot inside Nielsen ratings for some of the 1980s?

Dallas spent most of its television life inside Friday evening slot pursuing the successful CBS series, The Dukes Of Hazzard. Creator David Jacobs originally intended to create a series around a poor Texas girl, Pam Barnes (Victoria Principal), who marries into a wealthy family (The Ewings) with whom her family may be feuding for many years. The first five episodes mostly center around family members discord faced by Pam and her husband Bobby Ewing (Patrick Duffy) since they make an effort to bring their loved ones to a truce. But it soon became apparent to producers of the show that Bobby?s scoundrel of your brother, Ewing Oil President J.R. Ewing (Larry Hagman), could be the true star in the show. Son of Ewing Oil founder Jock Ewing (Jim Davis) with his fantastic wife Ellie (Barbara Bel Geddes), J.R. sought to produce Ewing Oil the biggest independent oil company inside world, anf the husband intended to check out any lengths important to get what he wanted. And as you?ll see, sooner or later, J.R. always gets what he wants? Along the way, he butts heads with life-long rival Cliff Barnes (Ken Kercheval), drives his very own wife Sue Ellen (Linda Gray) to alcoholism, and also mortgages the beloved Southfork Ranch (Miss Ellie?s childhood home and current residence for the majority of the Ewing clan). Southfork foreman Ray Krebs (Steve Kanaly) and Ewing grandchild Lucy (Charlene Tilton) add flavorful subplots to your series often dominated by J.R.?s nefarious schemes. In short, Dallas offers its viewers everything ? money, sex, violence, conspiracy, intricate business dealings, etc. If you haven?t seen it, then immediately start watching from the beginning episodes in the first season. You won?t be disappointed?!

The Dallas DVD features a number of exciting episodes such as the series premiere ?Digger?s Daughter? where the youngest from the Ewing sons, Bobby, introduces his wealthy family to his new bride, Pamela Barnes. But in the long-standing feud between their two families, not everyone is pleased. In fact, older brother J.R. immediately begins plotting to get rid of the marriage? Other notable episodes include ?Election? by which J.R.?s nemesis Cliff Barnes sees his congressional hopes undercut by way of a Ewing-financed opposition campaign, and the season finale ? โดจิน แปลไทย ? where Sue Ellen?s alcoholism threatens the life span of her unborn baby?

Below is a list of episodes included for the Dallas (Seasons 1 & 2) DVD:

Episode 1 (Digger?s Daughter) Air Date: 04-02-1978
Episode 2 (Lessons) Air Date: 04-09-1978
Episode 3 (Spy in the House) Air Date: 04-16-1978
Episode 4 (Winds of Vengeance) Air Date: 04-23-1978
Episode 5 (Barbecue) Air Date: 04-30-1978
Episode 6 (Reunion Part One) Air Date: 09-23-1978
Episode 7 (Reunion Part Two) Air Date: 09-30-1978
Episode 8 (Old Acquaintance) Air Date: 10-07-1978
Episode 9 (Bypass) Air Date: 10-14-1978
Episode 10 (Black Market Baby) Air Date: 10-15-1978
Episode 11 (Double Wedding) Air Date: 10-21-1978
Episode 12 (Runaway) Air Date: 10-28-1978
Episode 13 (Election) Air Date: 11-05-1978
Episode 14 (Survival) Air Date: 11-12-1978
Episode 15 (Act of Love) Air Date: 11-19-1978
Episode 16 (Triangle) Air Date: 11-26-1978
Episode 17 (Fallen Idol) Air Date: 12-03-1978
Episode 18 (Kidnapped) Air Date: 12-17-1978
Episode 19 (Home Again) Air Date: 01-07-1979
Episode 20 (For Love or Money) Air Date: 01-14-1979
Episode 21 (Julie?s Return) Air Date: 01-26-1979
Episode 22 (The Red File Part One) Air Date: 02-02-1979
Episode 23 (The Red File Part Two) Air Date: 02-09-1979
Episode 24 (Sue Ellen?s Sister) Air Date: 02-16-1979
Episode 25 (Call Girl) Air Date: 02-23-1979
Episode 26 (Royal Marriage) Air Date: 03-09-1979
Episode 27 (The Outsiders) Air Date: 03-16-1979
Episode 28 (John Ewing III Part One) Air Date: 03-23-1979
Episode 29 (John Ewing III Part Two) Air Date: 04-06-1979